Review: Of Dreams and Shadow

18607814

 

Title – Of Dreams and Shadow

Author – D.S. McKnight

Series – Forget Me Not, #1

Blurb:

We live. We die. Is there anything more? Jenna Barton is about to find out. After moving to the coastal North Carolina town of Parson’s Cove, Jenna has unwittingly stepped into the middle of a mystery involving a missing child. Unfortunately, the predator is still on the loose and Jenna has become his new obsession. With a little luck and a bit of paranormal help, Jenna might survive.

My Review:

4.5stars3

***I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.***

‘Of Dreams and Shadow’ follows the story of Jenna Barton as she moves to a new town, tries to get settled there and make new friends, all the while battling for her life as a shadow tries to make her his own.

I liked this book. Its a 4.5 stars for me. I took that 0.5 star for the style of writing.I, personally, am not a big fan of third person of POV. I read the Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare, and they were kind of meh for me. Just because of the third person POV. I love any type of book which is written in first person POV. Yet, I really liked this book.

Originally, when I saw that this book was there for a read for review program, I wasn’t too excited about it. But, when I saw all the great review about this book, I decided to give it a go. And I am really glad that I did. Really glad.

Jenna is an awesome characters. She comes from Charlotte to a small town named Parson’s Cove, and lives in the house where a little girl named Sarah, was captured by a shadow, and the shadow is still there. It now wants to take Jenna(take Jenna/ kill Jenna/ prison Jenna? I’m not exactly sure.)

The plot is freaking awesome and original. I never thought that I would find a book about body stealing shadows. Just like I told before, my only problem was with the writing. And the story was also paced quite slow in many places. That was annoying. But, these things aside, I really liked it.

Chase and Jenna are also an awesome couple. At first, I was a little miffed because of their insta-love, but I rolled around with it eventually. Also, I noticed quite a few similarities with Twilight. Girl moves from a big town to a small town. She feels like she wouldn’t be able to adjust, but later on the town feels like home. The boy is off limits to everyone, but only she manages to break his barrier and date him. The boy has(knows, in this case) a terrible secret which the girl eventually realizes. But, it is not like a rip-off of Twilight, there are just some small similarities.

I loved all the characters. They were all well developed and played their part well. They weren’t shallow and their stories are also nice. I kind of liked Silas the best of them all. He was a total bad-ass villain, yet we can totally sympathize with him. He had lived a very cruel life which forced him to become like this.

Overall, I thought this was a great book. Definitely recommended 😀

Your thoughts?

