Review: Open Minds

open minds

 

Title – Open Minds

Author – Susan Kaye Quinn

Series – Mindjack Trilogy, #1

Blurb

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.

Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden world of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her.

My Review

***I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review***

‘Open Minds’ follows the story of Kira Moore. In a future world, where all the people can read minds, Kira is one of the few people called Zeros, who cannot read the minds of other people and their minds are also blocked from others. Because, the others can’t read their minds, the Zeros are deemed untrustworthy and are shunned from the society.

This is a very good story. I have never read anything from Susan Kaye Quinn before, so this book was a pleasant surprise to me. The story line is really great, but I think the writing could have been a little bit better.

Kira is a fairly nice protagonist. At times, she was excellent, abut at times she was a bit boring. Simon was a cool and great character, although sometimes annoying. Raf was, by any stretch of imagination, my most favorite character in this book.

The plot of this book was very nice, but I think it was the execution which cut off one star for this book. I thought the story really dragged in the middle half, so I put off reading this book for a while. But, the end totally satisfied me.

Overall, I give this book 3.5 stars. I enjoyed it, but you may enjoy it more than me!

Rating: 3.5 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: Open Minds

Your thoughts?

