Review: Starstruck & Starcrossed by Brenda Hiatt

Starstruck Starstruck
by Brenda Hiatt
Genre: Science fiction
Age Category: Young Adult
Publisher: CreateSpace
Rating : 2.5 Stars
Add to Goodreads

Nerdy astronomy geek Marsha, M to her few friends, has never been anybody special. Orphaned as an infant and reluctantly raised by an overly-strict “aunt,” she’s not even sure who she is. M’s dream of someday escaping tiny Jewel, Indiana and making her mark in the world seems impossibly distant until hot new quarterback Rigel inexplicably befriends her. As Rigel turns his back on fawning cheerleaders to spend time with M, strange things start to happen: her acne clears up, her eyesight improves to the point she can ditch her thick glasses, and when they touch, sparks fly—literally! When M digs for a reason, she discovers deep secrets that will change her formerly humdrum life forever . . . and expose her to perils she never dreamed of. Yes, the middle of nowhere just got a lot more interesting!

r
I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Brenda!

Starstruck was an okay read. It started out slow, but the pace picked up soon. I liked the main character throughout the first half of the book, but in the second half…not so much. She began ignoring her friends and spending all the time with her boyfriend and that sort of behaviour doesn’t sit well with me. The plot was a good one, and I had been really excited to see how it would have been executed. The execution was also good, although I expected a bit more. But hey, that cover is really cute.

I felt that there were way too many cliches in this book. Truth to be said, every book has some or the other cliche, but I felt that some more originality could have been used. Rigel, the love interest, was my favorite character in this book. Even though I felt a bit disappointed with this book, it held my interest long enough for me to be convinced to pick up the sequel. So, next up is book 2, Starcrossed!

2.5 but

StarcrossedStarcrossed
by Brenda Hiatt
Genre: Science fiction
Age Category: Young Adult
Publisher: Brenda Hiatt
Rating : 4 Stars
Add to Goodreads

Marsha Truitt’s life has changed dramatically over the past few months. Instead of a nerdy nobody, she’s the newly discovered princess of a secret civilization. Even better, she’s dating the hottest guy in school, who just happens to be her literal soulmate. But when a new boy arrives at Jewel High, everything M thought she knew about herself and her future is turned on its head. Will the very destiny that lifted her from obscurity now tear her away from Rigel and their happy ever after?

r

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Brenda!

Starcrossed is MUCH better than its prequel, Starstruck. Even though I wanted to read it, I was a bit wary as I started it since I didn’t like Starstruck much. But I’m really glad that I read this! But that cover, ugh. Starstruck’s cover is way better than this.

Marsha goes through more character development in this book. Rigel was sweet, just like he was in Starstruck. The new characters, Sean, Molly, and the others didn’t impress me as much. We get to read through Rigel’s POV also in this book. And I was like, YES! Rigel!💗

This book was also predictable, but it is carried out better. Even though I knew all the twists, I was eager to read them. The writing also flows a bit more smoothly in this book. All in all, I really liked this book, and am waiting for book three!
4 but

Divya

2 thoughts on “Review: Starstruck & Starcrossed by Brenda Hiatt

Your thoughts?

