Review: Deadgirl by B. C. Johnson

Deadgirl coverDeadgirl
By B C Johnson

Genre:Paranormal
Age category: Young Adult
Series: N/A
Rating: 2.5 stars

Blurb:
Dead is such a strong word . . .

Lucy Day, 15 years old, is murdered on her very first date. Not one to take that kind of thing lying down, she awakens a day later with a seemingly human body and more than a little confusion. Lucy tries to return to her normal life, but the afterlife keeps getting in the way.

Zack, her crush-maybe-boyfriend, isn’t exactly excited that she ditched him on their first date. Oh, and Abraham, Lucy’s personal Grim Reaper, begins hunting her, dead-set on righting the error that dropped her back into the spongy flesh of a living girl. Lucy must put her mangled life back together, escape re-death, and learn to control her burgeoning powers while staying one step ahead of Abraham.

But when she learns the devastating price of coming back from the dead, Lucy is forced to make the hardest decision of her re-life — can she really sacrifice her loved ones to stay out of the grave?

image

I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Deadgirl follows the story of Lucy Day, who is murdered unintentionally on her first date. She, however, is unable to stay dead, and wakes up the next morning with nothing but a blood stained dress. But why is she waking up every morning in a beach instead of her home? What is happening to her body? Read Deadgirl to find out.

Deadgirl was an ……. interesting book. I had no expectations when I started this, as I had requested it for review just by seeing that cover and none of my friends had read or reviewed it. I think this would make a great movie. The action scenes would be well accounted for, but as a book, I didn’t click with it. It kind of fizzled out by the end.

The story starts well enough, but there was a lot going on and it was very difficult to keep track of everything. I got confused more than a few times and had to start again from a few pages before. It wore me out. I didn’t have any problems with the characters, as far as I can remember. (It’s been a while since I completed this.) The pacing was also alright. The execution was what I struggled with. If it would have gone a little more slowly, I guess I could have enjoyed it more.

All in all, Deadgirl, even though it had an awesome plot, fell flat for me. But go on and read it! Maybe you’ll like it more than I did!

2.5 but

Divya

2 thoughts on “Review: Deadgirl by B. C. Johnson

Your thoughts?

