#SBPT16 – Summer TBR by La La @ La La in the Library

SUMMER BLOGGER PROMO TOUR
Hey guys! Today we have another awesome blogger here, La La @ La La in the Library, for the tour. She’s gonna be telling us what books she’ll be reading in the summer. Here’s what she has to say:
I realized a few months ago after being asked many many times if I had finished a certain trilogy yet,  re-read that book I kept talking about, or started one of the sale ebooks I had found on Amazon that I was getting absolutely zero personal reading done. The audiobooks my sister brought me from the library would sit on my nightstand untouched until they needed to go back, and the series I had completed in hardcover from Book Outlet and Better World Books were gathering dust on my shelves. I started falling into slumps after reading two DNFed ARCs in a row, and was taking far too long to finish ARCs that weren’t bad, but not wonderful either. There seemed to be no end in sight because I had so many ARCs for March and April I started calling it the ARCpocalypse! I knew I needed to do something about it so I made a plan.
First I made a list if all of the ARCs I already had for July, August, and the first two weeks of September and promised myself I would not request any more for this time block unless they were books I already wanted to read personally. It wasn’t too bad. I had three pre-existing summer ARCs, and I only ended up requesting two more that I couldn’t pass up.
Next I joined the ARC April Challenge to keep myself motivated and accountable. I cleared quite a few titles from my ARC pile and I was very pleased. There is also an ARC August Challenge if anyone is interested: HERE. I also had a couple of dredded DNFs so that helped, too. By the time July rolled around all I had left was Nevernight. SUCCESS!
Here are some of the top books on my summer ARC free reading list and reasons why I chose them.
Last year I bought an ebook bundle of all the Anne books and short stories that are in the Public Domain, for a dollar, and I have been wanting to do a re-read of the first three books ever since. I came across an Anne Of Green Gables Read-A-Long for the month of July and instantly knew what my first book would be! You can still link up HERE, and you don’t have to be participating in the read-a-long to join in on the chapter discussions if you have already read the book.
I have had this in hardcover for forever, but I was spoiled with the BIG spoiler the day after it published by a comment on a non-spoilery blog review. It made me lose all want to read the story at that moment in time, but I knew I would eventually get to it because I adore Leigh’s writing. I know that you don’t have to read these books to start the Six Of Crows duology, but I want too, and I am dying to read them!
I read The Raven Boys for a guest review quite a while ago and I have the first three books in hardcover, but after hearing about a devilish cliffhanger at the end of Blue Lily, Lily Blue; I decided to wait until The Raven King was out and binge read the last three books during my vacation.
I read the first book in this duology, Masque Of the Red Death, ages ago before I started blogging. My sister picked it out for me at the library because she liked the cover. I read it and loved it. By the time this book was published I was blogging and even though I have both of the books in hardcover staring out at me from their shelf, I frankly had no time to read this last one. My ARC free summer seemed to be the perfect time to get it done!
I read the first Discworld book, The Color Of Magic, about 15 years ago after I found the paperback for 50% off at Barnes and Noble. It was an excellent read and I had always meant to continue, but never did. I saw this title as an ebook for $1.99 and snatched it up. I was lucky it is one that you can read out of order in the series.
Elizabeth from So Long… & Thanks For All The Fish has been pushing this book in my face since we met on a blog hop two years ago. I had intended to read it last summer because I got the ebook free for signing up for the publisher’s newsletter. I didn’t get to it last summer because of, well… ARCs. Ha ha.
Everyone has been recommending this book! I found the audiobook for free on SYNC’s Free Summer Reading program page. If you don’t know about it, check out the two free weekly downloads, HERE.
This is one of the two free SYNC Summer Reading books for the last week of the program. I am super excited to listen to it because Cait from Paper Fury has been telling me to read it every chance she gets. She says it is a strange story and I love and adore strange.
And these four from my 2016 Highly Anticipateds…
Do you ever have trouble finding the time for personal reading?
La La is a 59 year old book blogger who reads mostly YA, has a 24 year old son at university, is learning Japanese, makes a fab pumpkin pie, and likes a couple of martinis on Friday nights. You can find her pushing indie authors and talking books at La La in the Library and on Twitter @LaLaT0adst0ne (the Os are zeros).
Thanks for the wonderful post, La La! I hope you love all these books and have a great summer. ❤
Divya
5 thoughts on “#SBPT16 – Summer TBR by La La @ La La in the Library

  1. Anne of Green Gables is on my TBR for this summer too! I also have the same problem with arcs that you do haha! Too many of them and not enough time! I’ve been doing good recently and only requesting ones that I really want to read or that I can post whenever. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg fancy seeing La La here! *waves* HELLO!! 😀 And omg I do hope you like the Bone Gap and all my flailing is not in vain.😂 IT IS SUCH A GOOD BOOK and afjdkaslfd to all these wonderful other glorious book! I’m such a fan of The Raven Cycle (wherein in no one is surprised😂) and Unwind was creepily glorious and I’ll Give You the Sun nearly made me cry. ❤ bOOKS ARE SO GOOD OMG.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

