#SBPT16 – Gods & Goddesses & Books, Oh My! with Jess @ Princessica of Books

SUMMER BLOGGER PROMO TOUR

Hello everyone! Today, for my SBPT post, we have the wondeful Jess @ Princessica of Books! We’re doing a fun little post about PJO. Read on, and definitely follow Jess’s blog if you aren’t already!

Gods & Goddesses & Books, Oh My!

Hello everyone! I’m here today on Divya’s blog to do a little collab post. Because we both share a deep love for Percy Jackson, we decided it’d be very cool to pair Greek gods and goddesses with books!

Jess’s 5 Gods & Goddesses

Ares: god of war ↠ Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

Mistborn has a lot of politics surrounding military and war strategies. In addition, it’s more on the gory side–something others would not like, but Ares would love!

Aphrodite: goddess of love ↠ Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Not only does Anna and the French Kiss take place in the city of love, it also has a very cute story! Perkins is one of the best contemporary romance authors out there, along with Kasie West & Jenny Han.

Athena: goddess of wisdom ↠ The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

The Star-Touched Queen relies heavily on wit and riddles, which Athena would appreciate. While there is some romance in it, it’s very clever–apostrophes like Death and Love are actual people.

Artemis: goddess of the moon ↠ I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

I Am Malala is actually a book Athena would enjoy as well. Nonfiction, it focuses on one girl’s fight for female education. I haven’t read it myself but I admire Malala.

Hecate: goddess of magic ↠ Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms relies heavily on magic, especially in the sequels. Another book I’d recommend is Harry Potter for obvious reasons!

Divya’s 5 Gods & Goddesses

Apollo: god of the sun, medicine and poetry ↠ Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Apollo is established as a confidently bisexual character, and I think he would love reading some sweet and cute gay contemporaries! Simon might just become one of his favorites 😉

Hephaestus: god of blacksmiths and fire ↠ Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder is quite the obvious choice, I know. What with Cinder being  mechanic herself and the minimal amount of romance in these books, I think Hephaestus might enjoy reading them.

Hermes: god of travellers, merchants and thieves ↠ The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

I haven’t read this book myself, but the fact that the MC is described as having a gift for thieving made me choose this one for Hermes.

Iris: goddess of rainbows, messenger of the gods ↠ A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab

Just like Iris, Kell from ADSOM is a messenger for the rulers of the four Londons. I think Iris would also love the descriptions of Red London!

Nemesis: goddess of revenge ↠ Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Nemesis would definitely enjoy the feisty Celaena from TOG who wants her revenge against the king of Adarlan. I might be wrong about this, because I haven’t completed this series yet, so lemme know!

About the Blogger:

http-%2F%2Fprincessicaofbooks.wordpress.com

Jess is your local blogger, bibliophile, feminist, and a future cat-lady. She enjoys supporting her local library and absolutely adores indie bookstores. When she is not reading or doing any other bookish sorts, she is probably listening to Troye Sivan, tweeting (@PrincessicaOB), or doing schoolwork [yes, although she hates it, she is quite responsible]. Feel free to chat with her on Twitter, Goodreads, Instagram or email her at princessiccaaaa[at]gmail[dot]com. Yes, two c’s and four a’s.

 

It was great having you here, Jess!

That’s all we have for you today, guys! Do you agree with our picks?

Divya

8 thoughts on “#SBPT16 – Gods & Goddesses & Books, Oh My! with Jess @ Princessica of Books

  1. I love this! It’s such an unique idea.
    I especially love your Hecate choice, Jess. I’m not a huge fan, but it’s a very magical book.
    And your Iris and Nemsis ones, Divya. I LOVE ADSOM! It’s such a good book.

    Like

  2. Oh wow, what an awesome post idea! I love PJO, and it’s so cool that you guys paired the gods and goddesses with books! ^_^ So many perfect pairings here – I honestly can’t comment on them all! But I totally agree with Anna and the French Kiss + Aphrodite, as well as Nemesis and Throne of Glass – awesome picks, that I actually wouldn’t have thought of! 🙂
    Geraldine @ Corralling Books

    Like

  3. This is such an unique post idea! I agree 100% with your choices, I’m really sure the gods/goddesses would love your choice! I’m pretty sure Poseidon would be a good pair with PJO, after all, who wouldn’t be proud reading stories about their son saving the world? 😀

    Like

Your thoughts?

