Wench – blog tour!

Wench – blog tour!

Wench

by Maxine Kaplan

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: January 19, 2021

Goodreads || Amazon ||Barnes and Noble || Indigo || IndieBound || Book Depository

A funny, fiercely feminist YA epic fantasy—following the adventures of a tavern wench

Tanya has worked at her tavern since she was able to see over the bar. She broke up her first fight at 11. By the time she was a teenager she knew everything about the place, and she could run it with her eyes closed. She’d never let anyone—whether it be a drunkard or a captain of the queen’s guard—take advantage of her. But when her guardian dies, she might lose it all: the bar, her home, her purpose in life. So she heads out on a quest to petition the queen to keep the tavern in her name—dodging unscrupulous guards, a band of thieves, and a powerful, enchanted feather that seems drawn to her. Fast-paced, magical, and unapologetically feminist, Wench is epic fantasy like you’ve never seen it before.

Content warning: Some magic in the book involves self-harm.

Read more
Cast in Firelight – blog tour!

Cast in Firelight – blog tour!

Cast in Firelight

by Dana Swift

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: January 19, 2021

Goodreads || Amazon || Indigo || IndieBound || Book Depository

The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

Read more
Glimpsed // scheming fairy godmothers and rainbow hair

Glimpsed // scheming fairy godmothers and rainbow hair

Glimpsed

by G.F. Miller

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Fantasy

Publishing Date: January 5, 2021

Goodreads || Amazon || Barnes & Noble || Indigo || IndieBound

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true.

Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures.

But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vibha crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?

Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend…and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?

Read more
A Wolf for a Spell // wolves and witches and happily ever afters – blog tour

A Wolf for a Spell // wolves and witches and happily ever afters – blog tour

 

A Wolf for a Spell cover

A Wolf for a Spell

by Karah Sutton

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy 

Published on: Dec 1st, 2020

Goodreads || Amazon || Barnes and Noble || Book Depository || Indigo

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Girl Who Drank the Moon meets Paxin this fantastical tale of a wolf who forms an unlikely alliance with Baba Yaga to save the forest from a wicked tsar. Since she was a pup, Zima has been taught to fear humans—especially witches—but when her family is threatened, she has no choice but to seek help from the witch Baba Yaga. Baba Yaga never does magic for free, but it just so happens that she needs a wolf’s keen nose for a secret plan she’s brewing… Before Zima knows what’s happening, the witch has cast a switching spell and run off into the woods, while Zima is left behind in Baba Yaga’s hut—and Baba Yaga’s body! Meanwhile, a young village girl named Nadya is also seeking the witch’s help, and when she meets Zima (in Baba Yaga’s form), they discover that they face a common enemy. With danger closing in, Zima must unite the wolves, the witches and the villagers against an evil that threatens them all.

Read more

Thorn of the Night Blossoms // wlw stans unite! – blog tour

Thorn of the Night Blossoms // wlw stans unite! – blog tour

Thorn of the Night Blossoms

by JC Kang

Cover artist: Binh Hai

Publisher: Self published

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Amazon || Goodreads

I received an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book from the publisher as part of my participation in their tour.

She’s the emperor’s deadliest assassin… …who’s in love with her clan sister.

With a brewing insurrection threatening the realm, Jie must choose between love and duty.

Because when faced with a nascent rebellion, your decisions could save an empire.

Or topple it.

Trigger/Content warnings:

  • Magically coerced sex (rape)
  • Graphic combat with gore
  • Sex work (portrayed in a positive light)

Read more